Do unto others…

Why can’t the Golden Rule actually BE a rule? A law? Like if you get busted doing something awful, you have to take a polygraph that asks “Would you put up with that if someone did it to you?” And if you lie, you have to do 10 Random Acts of Kindness as restitution. Like buy me Starbucks every day for 10 days. Shit like that.

People just treat other people horribly. I don’t watch the news, I try not to hear the news, and I don’t deliberately read the news for this reason. Most people are nosey and want to know what’s going on in the world, but I’m happy inside my little bubble of naivety. While I’m not an ignorant person, being ignorant to all the murders, car wrecks, home invasions, child abuse, and morons truly IS bliss. I accidentally see the occasional murder story posted on Facebook or something, and that’s enough to have me in a cloud of depression for an entire day. Imagine if I actually read the paper or watched at 10pm like a normal person. I’d then need a concoction of anti-depressants and uppers and a couple downers to counteract the uppers. Then I’d be like everyone else. I’d be a depressed, numb, insensitive, doped up mess like a lot of people on this planet. I think mind altering prescription drugs are more normal now than 2.5 kids, a dog, and a picket fence. I don’t know the percentage but I’d be willing to bet like 8 out of 10 people take SOMETHING to regulate mood.

Maybe, just maybe, these mind-numbing drugs are why people walk around without a care, and why they treat people like shit. Maybe, just maybe, if we relied on exercise and good ole sunshine to lighten our moods and our loads, we could feel again. We could care, and care enough to treat everyone as we want to be treated. Happiness isn’t made in a lab dish. Get outside, run, play, smile, swim, and treat others with kindness and respect!

I hope this starts a ripple of goodness for all who read it. Albeit a little random, I feel it’s a relevant message. Now, stop reading and go do some good!

Leave a Reply

