48569

This is my most favorite quote from one of my most favorite movies. I can relate. Sometimes I feel like jumping off the back of my “ship”. I’m not talking actual suicide of course, but this quote sums up how I feel a lot of the time. At home. At work. At Kroger. I feel like I have to repeat myself a lot, with no change. The problem with repeating yourself is that people get pissed, yet they don’t want to take one second to stop and hear what you’re trying to tell them. If they’d pause for 30 seconds, listen, and say “Maybe she has a point.” this skipping record would stop. Unfortunately, this is one of the hardest things for anyone to do, especially in the middle of an argument, or a game of Wii, or anything that causes tunnel vision.

People just don’t get it. The world is void of empathy, sympathy, grace, and understanding. The world is void of people caring about other people. Genuinely giving a shit what happens to another being of flesh and blood. The human race is comprised of people that are for themselves. It’s dog eat dog. Why have we all become this way? I’m pretty sure I’m right in the middle of this selfish bunch. Do I listen to people? NO. Do I care what anyone tries to say to me? Not half the time. From the moment I get up in the morning, it’s eat, get the kids ready (which is really chaotic, and I lose my cool a LOT), work, home, bed, repeat. I see beggars on the corners occasionally. I see cars broken down on the side of the road. I could pay for the person in line behind me at Starbucks. I could give so much more of myself than I do. I could concede to lose an argument. I could be the bigger person. But, like every other prideful, selfish human on the planet, I count the cost of doing those things. I think of the hassle, or the repercussions, or whatever may result if I take the time to just CARE for another one of God’s people. The conclusion is that I suck, and so does everyone else. The End.

#bebetterthanyouwereyesterday

Leave a Reply

